Make your own free website on Tripod.com

WALDROP CEMETERY ASSOCIATION
Home | HISTORY | BURIAL RECORDS | GRAVE LOCATION | CEMETERY DIRECTORY BUILDING | About WALDROP CEMETERY | By-Laws for Waldrop Cemetery | Photo Album | Contact Us | BROOKS MISSIONARY BAPTIST CHURCH | BROOKS COMMUNITY WEB SITE | Genealogy Links | SUGAR HILL CEMETERY
Photo Album

In 1991 it was decided to paint the tabernacle. Norvil Williams bought the paint. At the school reunion we chose November 2 as the date we would do the painting. The weather did not cooperate as the temperature was below freezing that morning. Norvil determined the temperature should be at least 50 F before we started to paint. That meant we had to wait until noon to finally begin the job. The following persons joined in the painting: Felton Waldrop, John Hill Williams, Norvil Williams, Bea Williams, Ray Woods and Bo Woods. During the afternoon we put a coat of paint on the front and both sides of the building. The back was painted at a later date. Norvil can tell us who and when that was done. Ray Woods brought scaffolding and kept it erected where it was needed and that was a great help to us.
The following three pictures were made on November 2, 1991, during the painting of the tabernacle.

flags.jpg

In this view you can see the scaffolding across the front of the building. Bo Woods is at the left, Norvil Wiliams is at the center, and on the right is Ray Woods with Felton Waldrop.

Here's a description of this picture.

flags.jpg

In the picture above, Ray and Bo Woods are erecting scaffolding for the paint crew.

flags.jpg

In the picture above, Bo Woods is in the background while Norvil Williams is up high trying to paint a hard to reach spot.

The following two pictures, taken by Diana Herring, show the front and rear views of the marker for the first person buried in Waldrop Cemetery. This person was Jemima Guest Gentry, wife of Samuel Gentry. Jemima died on June 18, 1872.

waldropcemeteryfirstmarkedgrave.jpg

waldropcemeteryfirstmarkedgraverear.jpg

The picture below depicts the concession stand on the left. It was built at about the same time the tabernacle was built in the 1920's. For many years this was a favorite place as volunteer workers sold soft drinks and ice cream cones. Those were rare treats for many of the children who attended the "graveyard working", which was held, annually, for many years on the second Tuesday in July.
The small building on the right was built years later to provide a place to collect donations to the cemetery, which is maintained through contributions.

The Concession and Collection Stands at Waldrop Cemetery!

The picture above was taken by Diana Herring.